Records Unit is designed to retain various pieces of data including incident reports, traffic tickets and inmate jail files. This Unit also maintains gun registration and freedom of information requests. The records are for the use of the public, law enforcement agencies and the courts.
The Records Unit is open Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Please come in no later than a half-hour before we close to allow enough time to assist you. We are closed on most legal holidays, including: New Year's Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, President's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Veteran's Day, Thanksgiving Day, Friday after Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Eve, New Year's Day (In 2016, holiday closings include Friday, December 23, Friday, December 30, and Monday, January 2, 2017)
If you have a question on holiday closings, please contact us at 248-858-5011.
The Records Unit is located on the East side of the Oakland County Jail in Pontiac, MI.
1201 Telegraph Rd, Pontiac, MI
How to Obtain an Incident or Accident Report in Person?
Please call 248-858-5011 to see if the report is available. If available, reports are usually received by our office 4-5 business days after the incident.
If it is available, you may come into our office during business hours listed above to obtain a copy. Bring photo identification and $7 cash per report.
How do I Purchase a Copy of an Accident Report Online?
Traffic Ticket Payments/Other
How to Make a Freedom of Information (FOIA) Request
How to Obtain a Criminal Background Check
Visit our office with your driver's license or state I.D. We will check to see if you've ever been arrested by our agency or incarcerated in the jail, and will provide you with a letter stating the results. There is a $5 charge for this service. If you need a more extensive search, please contact the Michigan State Police.
How to Obtain a Proof of Incarceration Letter
How to Obtain a Permit to Purchase a Firearm
To obtain a handgun purchase permit, you must appear in person at the Record Bureau of the Oakland County Sheriff's Office in Pontiac.
Please bring valid, government issued photo I.D. with your current address on it when coming in to obtain a permit. If you choose to have the permit notarized at Records, there is a $5 cash notary fee this service. After obtaining the permit, you will have 30 calendar days to purchase the firearm, and 10 calendar days to submit the MSP(Michigan State Police) copy of the purchase permit to the Sheriff's Office for registration. This may be done in person or by mail. It is very important that the information on the purchase permit is accurate and legible.
How to Register an Inherited Firearm
If you are the heir to the estate, come to our office with your valid driver's license or state I.D. On your permit to purchase, simply put "heir to the estate of Jane Doe" with your signature beneath in the seller spot. If you are the not the heir, you will need to obtain a Permit to Purchase and have the heir sign as the seller before registering the firearm.
Where to Send Your Gun Registration After a Firearm is Purchased or Inherited
If you have a CPL and live within the Oakland County Sheriff's Office jurisdiction, OR if you obtained your Purchase Permit from us, you will mail the Michigan State Police (MSP copy) of the Gun Registration to:
Oakland County Sheriff's Office
1201 N. Telegraph
Pontiac, MI 48341
Attn: Records Unit
The State of Michigan law states that if an individual who lives outside of our jurisdiction purchases a gun from an individual, FFL Dealer, Store or has a CPL (where the Pistol Sales Record form is completed), that form has to be turned in to their local police department.
For example, if you live in Birmingham, send your gun registration form to Birmingham Police Department.
I recently moved within Michigan to another address (within Michigan). Do I need to change the address on my Gun Registration card?
I just moved to Michigan from another state. How do I register my firearm(s)?
Applying for a Concealed Pistol License
After completing the required training course, bring your training certificate and the completed application to the Clerk's Office in the Courthouse along with $100 (cash or credit card).
You will then need to go to the Records Bureau at the Sheriff's Office with your receipt from the Clerk's Office, copy of your application and photo identification to be fingerprinted. You will need to bring $15 cash for the fingerprinting fee.
Renewing a Concealed Pistol License
The renewal process is basically the same as applying for a new permit except the training is not required. Instead, applicants will sign a statement stating that they have completed three hours of review of the required training and one hour of range time in the last six months. If your last renewal or application was processed after January 1, 2006 fingerprints are no longer required.
Where can I complete the required training for a Concealed Pistol License?
Where can I obtain information on Michigan firearms laws?
I need to be fingerprinted for a job. Can I do that at the Sheriff's Office?