In accordance with Michigan state law, strays are held for four to seven days in order to help the owner find and claim the animal. If you have lost an animal, we strongly encourage you to visit the shelter in person and read these tips on how to recover a lost pet
After four to seven days the animal becomes the property of Oakland County Animal Shelter and Pet Adoption Center and may be available for public adoption.
The Oakland County Animal Shelter & Pet Adoption Center posts pictures of the stray cats and dogs currently in the shelter online. This is updated 6 days a week. To view the stray cats currently at the shelter, click here
. To view the stray dogs currently at the shelter, click here.
Surrendering An Animal
Dogs will be accepted during normal business hours.
Oakland County Animal Shelter and Pet Adoption Center will operate as an open admission shelter for cats based on available capacity starting January 2, 2015. That means we will not accept cats when we do not have room to house them. After consulting with veterinary staff and other experts in animal shelter operations, we will implement the industry’s best practices. By limiting the number of cats we house, we will be able to offer the very best care to our existing cat population. Therefore, we urge residents to call the shelter at (248) 391-4100 to determine availability for their animal before coming here.
If we are at capacity and your cat is adoptable, we will place your name on a list and call you when we have room. We will also supply you with numbers to local rescue organizations that may be able to provide immediate help. The Animal Relinquish Information form
will be required with each cat brought to the shelter.
Alternative Animal Rescue Resources:
Adoptions are done on a first come, first served basis. All adopted animals will be spayed or neutered, heart worm or feline leukemia tested, micro chipped, and given age appropriate vaccinations prior to leaving the shelter. You must be over 18 years old to adopt an animal from the shelter and a valid ID is required. All fees must be paid in full before an animal can leave the shelter. If you rent, approval from landlord is required.
Michigan State Law requires that all dogs over four (4) months old be licensed. To obtain a dog license, you will need to provide proof of current rabies vaccination and proof of spaying/neutering (if applicable) at the time you purchase the license. In accordance with the laws of the State of Michigan, this information must be provided every time you renew your dog license. Oakland County Animal Shelter and Pet Adoption Center sells one year and three year dog licenses throughout the year. Please visit our Dog License page
for additional requirements and details.
All animal bites should be reported to Oakland County Animal Shelter and Pet Adoption Center and Oakland County Health Department. If medical attention has been received after a bite, please read the How to File a Bite Report page (link to bite report page), download the bite report (Will need to customize and brand bite report for Oakland County) and fax it to 248-391-9266.
Please visit our Abuse and Neglect page
to see what constitutes animal abuse or neglect. Our Animal Control Officers will respond to calls and complaints and investigate to see if animal cruelty statutes have been violated. If a violation has occurred, the officer may work with the owner to educate them on how to correct the violation or we may immediately prosecute.