Parks Commission

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Oakland County Parks and Recreation Commission was established by Public Act 261 of 1965. Founded in 1966, the commission is the policymaking board that oversees the system’s 6,700 acres. Commissioners are tasked with allocating resources throughout 13 parks, and making decisions about purchasing park land, constructing facilities, preserving maintenance standards and developing innovative programs and services.

Oakland County Parks and facilities are made possible by millage funds supported by Oakland County residents.  For a home with an assessed value of $200,000, the homeowner pays less than $25/year to support the Oakland County Parks. For this reason, fees are discounted for residents of Oakland County.​


Meeting Packets

 Commission Events