About the 52nd District Court, 3rd Division
Oakland County, MichiganCourts52nd District Court Division 3About the 52nd District Court, 3rd Division

About the 52nd District Court, 3rd Division

The District Court, which was established by the Michigan Legislature in 1968 pursuant to constitutional mandate, has more citizen contact than any other court in our judicial system. Of the 258 District Court Judges in the State of Michigan, 33 are located in Oakland County, with three of those Judges currently sitting in the 3rd Division of the 52nd District Court.

Judge Robert L. Shipper was elected in 1968 to serve as the first Judge of the 52nd District Court, 3rd Division. In 1974, the Michigan State Legislature and the Oakland County Board of Commissioners authorized a second judgeship. In 1975, the Honorable Mildred A. Vlaich was elected to the bench. On January 1, 1981, the Honorable James P. Sheehy was elected to serve the community. In 1988, a third judgeship was authorized and the Honorable Ralph H. Nelson was elected to the bench.

The current Judges of the 52nd District Court, 3rd Division are the Honorable Julie A. Nicholson, the Honorable Nancy T. Carniak and the Honorable Lisa L. Asadoorian.

The court is comprised of five divisions. The divisions include Administration, the Civil Division, the Criminal Division, the Traffic Division and the Probation Division.

The separation of the court into various divisions can sometimes become confusing to those visiting our court. Check out the Where Do I Go? page to find out more information and improve your visit.

Please note that parties to a case should not have direct contact with a judge via email or telephone.