About the 48th District Court

About the 48th District Court

​​​​​48th District Court EntranceThe District Court, which was established by the Michigan Legislature in 1969 pursuant to constitutional mandate, has more citizen contact than any other court in our judicial system. Of the 258 district court judges in the State of  Michigan, 33 are located in Oakland County, with three judges at the 48th District Court. The Judges of the 48th District Court are:

  • Honorable Marc Barron: elected 2004
  • Honorable Diane D'Agostini: elected 2000
  • Honorable Kimberly Small: elected 1996

The 48th District Court, located in the Township of Bloomfield, serves seven communities

  • Charter Township of Bloomfield
  • Charter Township of West Bloomfield
  • City of Birmingham
  • City of Bloomfield Hills
  • City of Keego Harbor
  • City of Orchard Lake Village
  • City of Sylvan Lake

The judiciary of the 48th District Court appointed the following magistrates. Magistrates assist in conducting arraignments, performing weddings and presiding over informal hearings and small claim cases. The Magistrates of the 48th District are:

  • Magistrate Howard Linden, P.C. (P25438)
  • Magistrate Julie Nelson-Klein, P.C. (P34323)
  • Magistrate Andra Richardson, P.C. (P41111)

The Court Administrator is:  Louise Patton (PH # 248-686-5167) (lpatton@48thdc.us).

The Court is comprised of the following five departments:

  • Finance Department/Cash Office
  • Civil Division
  • Criminal Division
  • Traffic Division
  • Probation Department