You are here:
News>

June 1st is Last Day to Purchase Dog License Without Penalty

Public Date: 5/23/2011 12:00 AM
Contact: Joanie Toole, Animal Control Supervisor, Oakland County Pet Adoption Center
Phone Number: 248-393-3572

Auburn Hills, Michigan -- The deadline is approaching to purchase a 2011 Oakland County dog license. After June 1, all dog licenses not already renewed will be delinquent and cost $30.

The current license fee for a spayed/neutered dog is $7.50 or $15 for an unaltered dog. Senior citizens 65 years and older receive a 25% discount. None of these discounts applies after June 1. The only exceptions to the $30 fee after June 1 are puppies that just turned four months of age, newly acquired dogs or new residents to the area.

Dogs must have a valid rabies vaccination to purchase the tags.  License tags are available at your local city or township hall, participating veterinarians, the Oakland Pet Adoption Center at 1700 Brown Road in Auburn Hills or on-line at www.oakgov.com/petadoption. For more information, the public may call the Oakland Pet Adoption Center at 248-391-4100.

Dogs four months of age and older in northern Oakland County, southwest Oakland County and the newly acquired service areas of Clawson, Ferndale, Troy and Pontiac need to have an Oakland County dog license. This is a Michigan State Law enforced by the Oakland County Animal Control Division. The Michigan State Dog Law requires that a dog census be conducted each year to ensure that an acceptable percentage of the dog population is vaccinated to prevent a rabies outbreak.  This percent is set at 70% by the World Health Organization. The Oakland County Animal Control Division will be conducting its annual dog census in its service areas mentioned earlier.

For media inquiries only, please contact Joanie Toole, Animal Control Supervisor, at 248-393-3572.