You are here:
CLEMIS Advisory Committee 
This committee provides direction and sets policy. Some of the areas of responsibility include:
  • Security
  • Participation in budget requests with OCIT management
  • Approval of CLEMIS development
  • Approval of new participants
Membership consists of the following voting members:
  • Ten Oakland County local law enforcement agency heads
  • One Oakland County Fire Department Representative 
  • Oakland County Executive
  • Oakland County Sheriff
  • Oakland County Prosecutor
  • Oakland County Circuit Court Administrator
  • One Oakland County District Court Administrator
  • One Livonia PD Representative
  • One Representative from each participating county outside Oakland County
Non-voting members from Oakland County include:
  • Director of Department of Information Technology
  • CLEMIS Manager
  • Civil Counsel
  • Two other representatives of Department of Information Technology

Advisory Committee Officers: 
The officers include a Chairperson, Co-Chairperson and Executive Secretary. The Chairperson is elected by the other Advisory Committee members, the Co-Chairperson is a member of the Advisory Committee and is appointed by the Chairperson. The CLEMIS Project Manager serves as Executive Secretary.

The Executive Secretary is responsible for preparing the agenda for the Advisory Committee and sub-committees. Prior to each meeting, the Executive Secretary reviews with the Chairperson of each committee contents of the agenda for approval.

Advisory Committee Chairpersons in past years include the following:

  • Chief John Donovan, Troy (1982)
  • Director Glen Leonard, Oak Park (1983)
  • Chief Edward Rittenour, Southfield  (1984)
  • Chief Lawrence Carey, Troy  (1985)
  • Chief Donald Zimmerman, Bloomfield Twp (1986 - 1990)
  • Director Frank Lauhoff, Farmington (1990 - 1991)
  • Chief William Dwyer, Farmington Hills (1991 - 1995)
  • Chief John Dalton, Auburn Hills (1995 - 1996)
  • Chief Lawrence Carey, Troy (1996 - 1998)
  • Chief William Dwyer, Farmington Hills (1998 - 2006)
  • Chief Charles Craft, Troy (2006 - 2009)
  • Chief David Molloy, Novi  (2009 - present)


 The Chairpersons of the various sub-committees are appointed by the Advisory Committee Chairperson. An effort is made to include a variety of agencies, including the Sheriff, Prosecutor, small agencies, and larger police departments.

Within the CLEMIS Advisory Committee, there are seven sub-committees as follows:

  • Bylaws
  • Fire Governance
  • Membership & Security
  • PSAP Coordinators
  • Radio Oversight
  • Strategic Planning
  • Applications & Development